University of Calgary
UofC Navigation


Bachelor of Arts graduates who walked the stage today: Mauricio Collao Quevedo and Daniel Kyle Bothwell.

The Killam is the University of Calgary's most competitive graduate student award.

Congratulations to Evangelian Collings and Joseph McDonald, who have each won the prestigious Joseph-Armand Bombardier CGS Master’s Scholarship from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.

The Department of Philosophy is delighted to announce the addition of Joe Kadi, Instructor – Women’s Studies, earned a B.A. in Women’s Studies from the University of Toronto, and an M.A. in Feminist Ethics and Theology from the Episcopal Divinity School, Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Joe has been teaching as a sessional instructor in the women's studies program since Fall of 2006.  He has won numerous teaching awards, include three of the University of Calgary’s Teaching Excellence Awards, the Teaching Award for Sessional Instructors, as well as the 2017 Distinguished Faculty Award from Mount Royal University.

In addition to his role as full time instructor, Joe is also the Women’s Studies Coordinator as of September 1, 2017.

The Department of Philosophy is delighted to announce the addition of Yoshiki Kobasigawa, Instructor – Philosophy, is a long time instructor of courses in Elementary Formal Logic, Bioethics, and Business Ethics.  He earned his Ph.D. in Philosophy from the University of Calgary and an M.A. from McMaster University.  Dr. Kobasigawa specializes in the Philosophy of Language, as well as the Philosophy of the Mind, Metaphysics, Epistemology, Logic and Ethics. 

In a first for the Philosophy Department, Jeremy Fantl taught a course during block week. Philosophical problems and ideas are often motivated with hypothetical scenarios. Films can present philosophically rich scenarios in vivid and compelling detail. In "Philosophy at the Movies," Prof. Fantl and his students looked at a selection of films (and a couple of television episodes) that dramatize philosophical problems, including issues in the philosophy of evidence and knowledge (epistemology), the nature of right and wrong (ethics), how punishment might justified, the possibility of self-sacrifice and moral dilemmas, and what it is to lead a good life.

Zahra Ahmadianhosseini is this year's winner of the Graduate Essay Prize, for her paper "Empty Names and Two-Valued Positive Free Logic". Last year's winners were Samara Burns and Alison McConwell. WInning essays are posted on the Department website.

Congratulations to Evangelian Collings and Darren Corpe for winning the Institute for Liberal Studies 2017 Essay Contest, in the Graduate and Undergraduate categories respectively.

Essay Topic: "Are there moral limits to markets?"

Honorable Mentions to Joshua Stein, Sarah Vooys (Graduate Category) and Mikaela Mackenzie (Undergraduate Category).

Congratulations to Timothy Perkins, who graduated from the Undergraduate Philosophy BA Honors Program this Spring and has since also been accepted into the Department's Masters Program.

Supervisor: C. Kenneth Waters

Honors Thesis: Are Pathways really just Mechanisms? A case for analyzing scientific terms as they are used

Future Plans: "My post-graduation future fell into place nicely as I have been fortunate enough to be accepted into the Masters program in the Philosophy Department at the University of Calgary. I plan to continue working with my honours adviser, Professor C. Kenneth Waters and his team of graduate student researchers, and possibly expand upon the ideas which inspired my honours thesis. Ultimately, my goal is to pursue a PhD in philosophy."


Connect with Us Twitter Facebook LinkedIn